As mentioned in our article about committing to your share as a group organizer, all you have to do to pay a deposit for your Pay By Group is to check the pertinent box when you commit to a slot in your group. This deposit acts as the group’s first payment for your purchase, and will be paid by you up front.
Even though you are paying the deposit on your own up front, you’ll ultimately only be responsible for the actual share you commit to in the final accounting of the purchase. This is why you must join your group and claim the pertinent share after you pay your deposit. If your share is more than the deposit, we will only charge you the balance due when your group completes. If your share is less than your deposit, we’ll refund you the difference at completion.
As an example, if you’re organizing a $1,000 purchase with a $500 deposit, and you want to pay the deposit, you’ll pay $500 up front. But if you then claim $250 as your share, you’ll be refunded $250 when the purchase completes. If you claim $500 as your share, then you won’t be charged anything additional when the purchase completes. And if you claim $750 as your share, you’ll only be charged $250 when the purchase completes.
Please note that the business you’re paying must opt-into offer a deposit option, and that some do not.
Please also note that deposits can only be paid during the group setup process. If you do not pay at that stage, you will have to wait until your group comes together to make the first payment and secure your inventory.